Blog Post #4

My past school work that involved research was mainly limited to government, where we had to write a paper once a week on a topic in the news and/ or newspaper. They were small assignments, and it only had to be one page, double spaced. Most of my research involved looking up terms I did not know before the article. All research was done online with news articles.

From the University of Idaho’s Library, I learned how important it is to know the timeline of information and when it is  recorded. For instance, some books or articles get recorded the next day while others do not get recorded until a month or two later. So if I have a report due in a week and the article I need is not yet recorded, I need to know beforehand to plan ahead and look for other resources. Knowing what is available at the library will save lots of time trying to find vetted sources and trying to cite sources as well. Also getting things done and time management is mentioned, and while common sense, a lot of students do not follow the guidelines, me included. Information is key to the process of research, that is why the library’s timeline and record of information is important, because it is the starting point of a long process.

The process of research, I have learned, is more complex than I once thought, and the library offers many resources such as research highlights and links for group activities and evaluations. Both of these help students broaden their knowledge by letting them experience feedback from other people interested in the same topic, or assigned topic. The Topic/ Terms page on the U of I Library resources website teaches readers how to turn a research question into a search strategy, and also has tips for using keywords with search engines. Both of these tips helped me with figuring out a thesis for one of my psychology classes. This library offers many information and resources for all types of people, student and professor.

I like how the site offers help with citing sources, as it is one of the biggest problems freshman have, and how it defines plagiarism, and helps with avoiding it as well. While a lot of us students know what plagiarism is, sometimes we do not know the extent of it and how much we really have to cite, especially pictures. Looking through the topics and sources they have I am very excited to use them. Before I would have to use easybib.com and it was not very reliable at all, but this will help me out a lot. Overall I think the library’s resources are very in depth and helpful to students and faculty with not only writing papers but also research for projects and internships.

Leave a Reply

